About Laura Grubb

What is your educational background? 

I graduated from the University of Louisville’s School of Business. I hold a professional designation in Marketing and Advertising from UCLA (University of California – Los Angeles).

In what year did you begin working in the real estate industry as a REALTOR®?

Why do you like working in the real estate industry?
Every day is different! I love meeting new people and helping them find solutions to acquire or divest themselves of real estate property. It’s never dull!

In what year did you become affiliated with Semonin Realtors®?

Why do you choose to be part of Semonin?
Semonin is a very professional, yet friendly company that has withstood the test of time! Semonin has been in business since 1915. It’s a true Louisville original, yet as a Berkshire Hathaway Company, it has the most up-to-date systems in the industry. It has a very “win-win” company culture.

What do you do to stay up-to-date/knowledgeable about the real estate industry?
I constantly read various publications about the world and markets. I attend weekly sales meetings to stay abreast of our local markets, and I read Semonin’s wealth of information on the Louisville market and its up-to-date real estate statistics. I enjoy networking with other real estate professionals, including agents, closing attorneys, home inspectors, etc. I try to keep my ear to the ground.

What did you do before you began working in real estate?
I was involved in thoroughbred racing for 20 years. The industry position I held most recently was Deputy Director/ Southern California for the Thoroughbred Owners of California.

Are you involved in any trade/civic or community associations?
I volunteer weekly at the Kentucky Humane Society, working with their abused and neglected horses. Tell us about your immediate family. My husband is Jim, and we have a Scottish Terrier named Maxine.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
I like to read, travel and stay physically fit.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?
My father used to tell me that no matter what a person’s net worth was, they all put their pants on the same way. Very true!

What is your favorite book/type of book?
The personal growth genre is a big favorite, as I love trying to improve myself. I enjoy historical fiction and crime novels to escape.

What is your favorite movie/type of movie?
“Out of Africa.” I love the scenery.

What is your favorite song/type of music?
Anything that makes me run faster during a workout!

If you could wave a magic wand, what one thing would you most like to change in the world?
I would erase racism.

What are two or three items on your Bucket List?
I want to travel back to Scotland and visit a foreign country every other year.

If you could have dinner with anyone, living or deceased, who would it be?
My Father. I miss him! He was very wise.

What is your favorite word?
Love. Such a nice word to say.

Do you have a motto/words to live by?
“Seek first to understand, then to be understood.” (Stephen Covey)

Do you have a favorite quote?
“Don’t pursue happiness—create it.”

Testimonial Tree Testimonials: